Mysterious Reviews Home

April Fool Dead

A Death on Demand Mystery by Carolyn Hart

April Fool Dead by Carolyn Hart

Review: April Fool Dead is the 13th mystery in Carolyn Hart's Death on Demand series with mystery bookstore owner Annie Darling.

New readers of this series will no doubt be delighted with this cozy. Annie Darling has a dream job of running what appears to be a wildly profitable mystery bookstore on a resort island off the coast of South Carolina and, in contrast to the vast majority of bookstore owners, has time aplenty to get involved in the affairs of a cast of characters that seem to be an updated and transplanted version of the inhabitants of St. Mary's Mead. But long time readers of the series will be disappointed. April Fool Dead is a safe, albeit rather dull, extension of a series that once was vibrant and exciting.

Hart typically includes mystery-themed puzzles in her books, and is no exception. It's always a bit of fun realizing that, no matter how many mystery books you've read, you'll still not likely to come up with all the right answers!

April Fool Dead is a fine mystery book for a rainy afternoon, but it's definitely not among the best of the series.

Review Copyright © 2002 — Hidden Staircase Mystery Books — All Rights Reserved

Selected reviews of other mysteries by this author

Mystery Book Review: Death Walked In by Carolyn HartDeath Walked In
William Morrow (Hardcover), March 2008
ISBN-13: 9780060724054; ISBN-10: 0060724056

Location(s) referenced in April Fool Dead: South Carolina

— ♦ —

April Fool Dead by Carolyn Hart

April Fool Dead by A Death on Demand Mystery

Publisher: William Morrow
Format: Hardcover
ISBN-13: 978-0-380-97774-1
Publication Date:
List Price: $23.95

Buy the Book (purchase options)